Eskom implements load reduction in FOUR provinces

Eskom has warned that it will implement load reduction in KwaZulu-Natal (KZN), Free State, North West and the Northern Cape on Sunday, 24 April.

The load reduction will be in place during peak hours from 17:00 until 22:00 at most.


Eskom said load reduction will be implemented to avoid overloading its network and damage to its infrastructure in high-density areas that are prone to network overloading. 

“Overloading of networks leads to damage to the electricity infrastructure through explosions  in overloaded transformers and mini-substations.

“It also poses danger to people and property in the affected communities. Currently, Eskom is battling to keep up with the increased equipment failure that is costing millions to repair.”


Areas affected in KZN:

  • Msunduzi, Indaka,
  • Msinga,
  • Ladysmith,
  • uMshwathi,
  • Newcastle,
  • Dannhauser
  • Emadlangeni,
  • Ndwedwe,
  • Maphumulo,
  • Indaka,
  • Abaqulusi,
  • Mfolozi,
  • uMhlathuze,
  • uMngeni,
  • Impendle

Areas affected in North West: 

  • Welgeval Segakwaneng,
  • Welgeval Chaneng,
  • Mabenya,
  • Robega Bala,
  • Rasimone and
  • Robega villages.

Areas affected in Free State:

  • Thabong sections- Roman Catholic,
  • Seabo Primary,
  • Thokoza,
  • Bohlokong township sections

Areas affected in the Northern Cape:

Eskom said residents should not log a fault during the load reduction periods and should treat all installations as live and dangerous.

ALSO READ: ‘She should be praised’: DA on Eskom’s Busi Mavuso

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.