Poland sanctions 50 Russian entities and individuals, including Gazprom

The Polish government has announced sanctions against 50 Russian and Belarusian individuals and entities – adding to measures already imposed by the EU – in an attempt to curb the outflow of billions of zloty from Poland to Russia.

Those on the list include a number of oligarchs – among them billionaires Oleg Deripaska and Mikhail Fridman – as well as state gas firm Gazprom. They will face measures such as the freezing of financial assets, exclusion from participation in public tenders, and a ban on entry to Poland.

One of the individuals affected is Viatcheslav Kantor, a businessman who indirectly owns an almost 20% stake in Grupa Azoty, a large chemicals producer partly owned by the Polish state.

Poland launches international billboard campaign to encourage Russia sanctions

“The Polish sanctions list is a supplement to the EU list,” said interior minister Mariusz Kamiński. “It applies to Russian entities and oligarchs with real interests in our country.”

As well as Gazprom, this includes entitles that previously imported coal from Russia and Donbas, including KTK Polska and Suek Polska, whose effective owners, Sait-Salam Gutseriev and Andrey Melnichenko, are also on the list.

Entities and individuals linked to Alexander Lukashenko’s regime in Belarus, such as Beloil Poland, are also included.

Poland unveils “most radical plan in Europe” for ending Russian energy imports

Deputy interior minister Maciej Wąsik said that the 18 largest firms included on the new sanctions list have transferred over 6 billion zloty (€1.29 billion) to Russia in the last two years. He noted that anyone who now violates the sanctions can be fined up to 20 million zloty, reports the Polish Press Agency (PAP).

Kamiński said that further entities would be added to the list in future, but noted that “many hide behind various companies registered in tax havens”, making it more time consuming to identify them.

Powers to create a sanctions list were established by a law introduced earlier this month, which also banned the import of coal from Russia and prohibited symbols promoting Russian aggression against Ukraine, such as the “Z” logo.

Main image credit: MSWiA (under CC BY 3.0 PL)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.